Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

First Indians to win awards and titles – Set (3) for Competitive Exams



1. Padma Vibhushan: Satyendra Nath Bose, Nand Lal Bose, Zakir Hussain, Balasaheb Gangadhar Kher, Jigme Dorji Wangchuk, V. K. Krishna Menon in 1954

2. Chevalier of the Order of Arts and Letters: Sivaji Ganesan

3. Dadasaheb Phalke Award: Devika Rani in 1969

4. Ashoka Chakra Award to a civilian: D.K. Jatar (posthumous) and M.C Dixit, captain and co-captain respectively, of the sabotaged plane Kashmir Princess, for “most conspicuous bravery, daring and self sacrifice”

5. Magsaysay Award: Vinoba Bhave, 1958

6. Stalin Peace Prize (now known as Lenin Peace Prize) in 1952: Saifuddin Kitchlew

7. Oscar for Lifetime Achievement: Satyajit Ray

8. Nishan-e-Pakistan: Morarji Desai, 1990

9. Nobel Prize in Literature: Rabindranath Tagore in 1913 (He is also the first Asian to win the prize).

10. Nobel Prize in Physics: Sir C. V. Raman in 1930 (He the first Asian and first non white person to win Science nobel prize).

11. Nobel Prize in Peace: Mother Teresa in 1979. (She received as an Indian citizen of Albanian origin).

12. Nobel Prize in Economics: Amartya Sen in 1994.

13. Nobel Prize in Peace: Kailash Sathyarthi in 2014.

14. Oscar award for Costume Design: Bhanu Athaiya in 1982

15. Oscar award for Honorary: Satyajit Ray in 1992

16. Oscar award for Best Original Song, Best Original Score: A. R. Rahman in 2009

17. Oscar award for Sound Mixing: Resul Pookutty in 2009

18. Oscar award for Best Original Song: Gulzar in 2009

19. Ashoka Chakra: Flt. Lt. Suhas Biswas in 1952

20. Param Vir Chakra: Major Somnath Sharma

21. Commandeur of the Order of Arts and Letters: Mrinal Sen

22. National Bravery award: Harish Chandra in 1958